Am I sabotaging myself?

Standard

A few weeks ago I intentionally counter offered a job offer by demanding a 20% increase. It was for a job that’s similar to the one I recently resigned from so it would have been easy to do, albeit soul crushing and meaningless as well. I knew they would not agree to the amount I requested but I did it anyway. As predicted, they came back with a response along the lines of ‘we don’t want to pay you that amount because we can find a fool that would take this job for less’ and I was more than happy to send them a letter of declination right then and there. I thought this was a one time event until I got a call from a recruiter late last week who wanted to schedule a phone interview. It again, was for the same kind of job I just left. Β I agreed to it and during the interview provided some not so great responses to the questions she asked me. This time it wasn’t intentional. I was not trying to be careless but something inside me just could not care less. Its almost like my subconscious was coming forth to block me from going back to the mind numbing world of cubicle farms and corporate speak. I want to make money and have a career on my own terms, doing something I love and talking about things that are actually interesting for a change. Β So to start my journey, I’ve decided to focus on a few things.

First, taking courses based on my interest. No more piling on electives to finish by the end of the year so I can have the ‘MBA’ title. I am now focusing on taking courses for their intrinsic value for once. So I’m giving myself an extra semester to get into electives that interest me. The current plan is to take interesting marketing and finance electives. Luckily, these classes have the potential to make me money so Yay!

Second, re-focus on my real estate hustle. Β A career in real estate doesn’t strike people as the most sophisticated of careers but at the end of the day, if done right, it will make money. Until I become financially independent and/or find other ways to generate revenue, and probably even after that, real estate has the potential to be my bread and butter. Β To this end,I’ve scheduled a few productivity coaching sessions with my broker, started to read books by successful realtors and started to talk about my business more to potential clients.

Third, more certifications, namely the Certified Financial Professional certification. This is currently my dream job. I want to talk about personal finance, wealth management and financial independence for a living. In order to make sure that I am professionally qualified, I am going to take this certification course and get the necessary hours under my belt.

My February goals are:

Work 20 hours a week on drumming up business for my real estate goals.

Continue to exercise at least 4 days a week.

Begin my consulting side business (currently waiting for the paperwork and my first assignment)

Find one more WFH side hustle

Find 3 ways to reduce my expenses and implement them.

Here we go…

 

 

Leave a Reply

